Wickersley Northfield Primary School

Your new design will be uploaded in:
...
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.
X

Northfield Lane, Rotherham, South Yorkshire, S66 2HL

enquiries@wnp.wwpat.org

01709543704

Wickersley Northfield Primary School

Part of White Woods Primary Academy Trust

Reading at Wickersley Northfield Primary

Intent

Reading is an essential part of our curriculum at Wickersley Northfield Primary and our aspiration is for every child to be able to read fluently and enjoy reading.

From the very outset, we place huge emphasis on ensuring every child masters the early reading skills and is able to decode fluently through the systematic teaching of our Read Write Inc. programme. Children with effective phonics, word reading and comprehension skills will then go on to become fluent readers.

We aim to provide a wide range of reading experiences and opportunities for children to explore a wealth of different books and develop a love for reading throughout.

 

Breadth of study: National Curriculum for Reading

Key Stage 1:

  • Listen to traditional tales.
  • Listen to a range of texts.
  • Learn some poems by heart.
  • Become familiar with a wide range of texts of different lengths.
  • Discuss books.
  • Build up a repertoire of poems to recite.
  • Use the class and school libraries.
  • Listen to short novels over time.

Breadth of study: National Curriculum for Reading

Key Stage 2:

  • Read and listen to a wide range of styles of text, including fairy stories, myths and legends.
  • Listen to and discuss a wide range of texts.
  • Learn poetry by heart.
  • Increase familiarity with a wide range of books, including myths and legends, traditional stories, modern fiction, classic British fiction and books from other cultures.
  • Take part in conversations about books.
  • Learn a wide range of poetry by heart.
  • Use the school and community libraries.
  • Look at classification systems.
  • Look at books with a different alphabet to English.
  • Read and listen to whole books.

Rashford is Reading!

The footballer, Marcus Rashford, wants all children to experience that wonderful feeling of curling up with a book that transports you to another world. He is setting up his own book club  to promote reading. He asked teachers across the country to name their top books for children. Here's the top 10! Have many have you read?

Top 10 reads recommended by teachers:

  1. Holes, Louis Sachar
  2. The Wind in the Willows, Kenneth Grahame
  3. Unstoppable, Dan Freedman
  4. Noughts and Crosses, Malorie Blackman
  5. Diary of a Killer Cat. Anne Fine
  6. Fantastic Mr Fox, Roald Dahl
  7. The Worst Witch, Jill Murphy
  8. The Butterfly Lion, Michael Murpurgo
  9. The Lives of Christopher Chant, Diana Wynn Jones
  10. The Secret Garden, Frances Hodgson Burnett

Waterstones' Children's Book of the Month

June 2021

When the Sky Falls by Phil Earle

  As the Second World War escalates and bombs start to fall, Joseph is charged with protecting Adonis the gorilla in this nerve-shreddingly tense thriller based on a true story. 

 

May 2021

The Swallows' Flight by Hilary Mckay

 Continuing the stories of the characters from McKay's acclaimed The Skylarks' War, the Swallows' Flight is a compelling and thoughtful depiction of young people from different countries growing up as the world races to war once more. 

April 2021 

Harley Hitch and the Iron Forest by Vashti Hardy

 The author of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize-shortlisted Brightstorm serves up a great adventure series guaranteed to get younger readers enthused about science, as a resourceful girl must save the day in the mechanical world of Inventia.

March 2021

The Boy Who Made Everyone Laugh by Helen Rutter

 A laugh-out-loud, against-all-odds triumph of a story: the funniest debut of 2021. Billy Plimpton is an eleven-year-old boy with a big dream. He wants to be a stand-up comedian when he grows up: delivering pinpoint punch-lines and having audiences hang on his every hilarious word. A tough career for anyone, but surely impossible for Billy, who has a stammer. How will he find his voice, if his voice won't let him speak? 

February 2021

Me, My Dad and the End of the Rainbow written by Benjamin Dean and illustrated by Sandhya Prabhat

Packed with heart and humour, Dean’s soaring debut follows young Archie Albright and his best friends on a determined quest to understand his parents’ separation following a revelation from his father.
 

January 2021

The Valley of Lost Secrets

An enthralling wartime adventure perfect for fans of Emma Carroll and Ross Montgomery, Parr’s debut children’s novel centres on a lonely evacuee and a spooky discovery in a Welsh village.

September 1939. When Jimmy is evacuated to a small village in Wales, it couldn't be more different from London. Green, quiet and full of strangers, he instantly feels out of place. But then he finds a skull hidden in a tree, and suddenly the valley is more frightening than the war. Who can Jimmy trust? His brother is too little; his best friend has changed. Finding an ally in someone he never expects, they set out together to uncover the secrets that lie with the skull. What they discover will change Jimmy - and the village - forever. A mesmerising mystery about bravery and brotherhood from an outstanding new voice.

November 2020

The Midnight Guardians by Ross Montgomery

A boy, a badger, a tiger and a knight fight the good fight in wartime London.

 

 

 

 

The Best Books of 2020: Children's Fiction

Rowling, Walliams, Fletcher - and many more; this year has seen the big hitters of children's fiction really deliver. Bestselling series upped the ante on excitement and adventure with fresh instalments of Nevermoor, The Wizards of Once and Starfell, whilst we enjoyed another gritty mystery with NSquared in Sharna Jackson's Mic Drop and chuckled along to more hilarious Wimpy Kid high jinks. With terrific debuts from Elle McNicoll, Simon Farnaby and Nizrana Farook amongst many others, the future for children's fiction is looking very bright indeed. 

 


 

Essential Characteristics of Reading:

  • Excellent phonic knowledge and skills.
  • Fluency and accuracy in reading across a wide range of contexts throughout the curriculum.
  • Knowledge of an extensive and rich vocabulary.
  • An excellent comprehension of texts.
  • The motivation to read for both study and for pleasure.
  • Extensive knowledge through having read a rich and varied range of texts

Threshold Concepts for Reading:

Read words accurately - This concept involves decoding and fluency 

Understanding texts - This concept involves understanding both the literal and more subtle nuances of texts. 

Reading Ambassadors

Say hello to our new Reading Ambassadors!

These children have been selected for their ‘love of reading’. Our ambassadors will be encouraging and promoting reading for pleasure throughout school. This will include
reviewing new books, contributing to reading areas/displays around school and supporting our upcoming ‘Book Week’ in March. They are looking forward to sharing their enjoyment of reading with everyone.


Watch this space for more details!

Recommended by our Reading Ambassadors

"I love the 'The Treehouse Books' and have read the three that we already have." Harley

"I have a suggestion for a book that would be suitable for Y5 to Y6 and it is called 'Pax' I have read it and it is very good! I have also read 'The Hunger Games' and 'The Dark is Rising'. I think 'The Hunger Games' would be suitable for Y6 - possibly Y5 and 'The Dark is Rising' series for Y4 to Y6" - Amber

"Lots of my friends enjoy reading the 'Barry Loser' books. When we do Book Talk, a lot of people say that 'Barry loser' is really funny! I also recently read the book, 'The Highland Falcon Thief'. I really enjoyed this particularly because it makes you think about who the thief is and it's very enjoyable because of all the different personalities in the book." - Eve

"I have recently added 'Holes' to my reading recommendation basket and I have also added a book by Pamela Butchart and 'A Diary Of A Wimpy Kid' book in there. So far I'm really enjoying 'Cogheart'. I'm really drawn to the book and I enjoy the part about Lily and her classes (in chapter 1)" - Roxy

"I have recently read a book by Michael Morpurgo called 'Outlaw'. It is very good and is suitable for y4 to y6." - Jacob

"I love the book called 'The Attack of the Demon Dinner Ladies' as it's really cool and so funny." - Brooke

"One of my favourites is 'Mokee Joe Is Coming" Ethan

"I really liked the book 'Boy In The Tower' by Polly-Ho-Yen' I would recommend it to other classes." Louis

The Perfect Winter Picture Book

Have you read 'Where Snow Angels Go' by Maggie O'Farrell? Let your class know what you thought of it!

 

Reading in Our School

 Take a look at the gallery below. We are always updating and adding to our reading areas within school.

My Book Blog

Pupils in KS2 love using My Book Blog to blog about their latest read.

Bug Club

We use our chromebooks and iPads to enjoy reading Bug Club books online.